Marriage Licensing Law Change

The state of Alabama has officially changed the paper trail that it will require for marriages to be made legal in the eyes of the government. Our brides are used to the system in which they get a license ahead of the wedding date and have their officiant (minister, priest, etc.) sign and mail it in post wedding.


Photo Credit: Aimee Reynolds Photography

Beginning on August 29, 2019 couples will not be required to have a ceremony (of course you can if you wish). Instead, couples wanting to wed will submit a notarized marriage certificate that will be recorded – but not issued – by Probate Judges.

We have narrowed it down to a step by step for you to easily follow.

  1. Couples must show proof they are legally allowed to marry.

    • In Alabama that means 16 years old (with parental consent), 18 years old or older. There is no waiting period, blood test, witness or residency requirements.

  2. Obtain and fill out Marriage certificate form

  3. Have the form notarized by an Alabama State Registered Notary

    • This may have a fee of $5.00, and some notaries may have travel fees if they travel to you.

  4. Return your notarized form to the Probate Court.

    • You have 30 days after notarization to file this form with the court.

    • You can mail this in to the court but you will need to enclose payment and ensure all lines are legible and free of correction markings. Baldwin County charges $73.00 (check with the county you file with).

    • You may request a certified copy if returning this to the Baldwin County Probate Court (other counties may also do this but be sure to ask if you are wanting this for your records).